Thirsk 10 – 2014 Report

Sunday morning dawned fine and clear for the 35th staging of the annual Thirsk10 Mile Road Race, which attracts runners from all over the north and further afield.  800 completed this fast, flat course, based at Thirsk Racecourse, and the winner, Andrew Wiles of New Marske Harriers completed the race in a superb 50.43 minutes, a full 3 minutes ahead of the next finisher, James Bulman, also of New Marske, who took 53.37.  John Matthew of Otley AC was 3rd in 53.41. 

Andrew Wiles – men’s race winner

With Tristan Learoyd and Andrew Pearson 5th and 10th respectively, it is no surprise that New Marske Harriers stormed away with the team prize.  The Otley team of John Matthew, Scott Harrington (4th) Liam Dunne  (9th) and Thomas Midgeley (23rd) were 2nd,  and Spenborough and District AC, comprising Kevin Ogden (6th),  Martin Hall (27th) Neil Barker (30th) and Tom Dart (38th) were 3rd.

In the ladies’ race,  Pauline Munro of Wetherby Runners had an excellent race to win in a time of 58.46, not far ahead of Richmond and Zetland Harriers Shona Fletcher who took 58.58,  30th overall.  Sarah Louise Cumber of Halifax Harriers AC was 3rd lady,  54th overall, in 60.25.  Halifax Harriers took the team prize comprising Sarah Louise Cumber, Elizabeth Sanderson (10th),  Cathy Dawson (18th) and Joanne Helliwell (66th).  New Marske Harriers team of Kay Neesam (22nd),  Kath Aspin (23rd)  Lisa Bennett (33rd) and Sharon Bulman (37th) were in 2nd place, with Ripon Runners’ Tori Green (5th),  Donna Riddler (14th) Anneke Imeson ((76th) and Jill Holt (87th) getting 3rd team prize.

adies Race Winner – Pauline Munroe

Jason Richards was the winner of the wheelchair event in a time of 46.14 and Steve Williamson of Wakefield Harriers was 2nd in 55.42.

RPS_0291 Ed
Wheelchair Race Winner – Jason Richards

The Norman Smith Trophy, for the first unattached local runner, was won by Adam Wilton, who finished a very creditable 310th in a time of 75.30.
The host club, Thirsk and Sowerby Harriers, are grateful to all the members and friends who supported and helped with this race, and special thanks to the residents of Newsham Road and Sandhutton Lane for their forbearance in coping with road closures for a few hours.

Such events are very expensive to stage, and we are grateful for the generosity of our sponsors,  Mulberry Homes,  Thirsk Garden Centre, Dales of Thirsk,  Steven Dresser Electricals,  Power Point, Sandhills Veterinary Laboratory,  Todd Waste Management, AB Electricals,  Harrowells Solicitors,  Howdens Joinery Company, Eurotech Service and MOT Centre,  Chatsworth Windows,   Towlers Newsagents,  White Rose Books,  Watkins Wright Hairdressers, Luke Miller Estate Agents and North Yorkshire Timber, without whose support such an event would be virtually impossible to stage.  Mention must also be made of the Traffic Management Company, Community TMLtd, who did a superb job in supporting marshals and managing the traffic.

Error thrown

Call to undefined function split()