Race Report 19/03/19


The busiest day of the year for the club dawned fine and bright for the 41st running of Thirsk 10, with a record turnout of 1042 finishers.  With the previous week having gale force winds, and the previous day very wet, the club felt fortunate indeed to have such a good day, though wind was certainly a factor round the course.  The winner of the race was Rob Scott of Richmond and Zetland in 53.38 with Dean Newton and Allan Harry of New Marske Harriers 2nd and 3rd respectively.  The winner of the Ladies’ race was Georgia Cambell of Jarrow and Hebburn, 39th overall, in 59.37, withTracey Millmore of Birtley AC 2nd and Charlotte Ward of Hallamshire 3rd.

14 Thirsk and Sowerby members took part, many for the first time, and several achieving PBs.  David Fawkes was the first of these, 110th in 64.47, with Amber Southern 129th and 1st F35 (outside the first 10 finishers) in 66.18.  18 year old Joshua Fothergill was 156th in 67.54, Michael Cropper 187th in 69.15, Jody Sygrove 238th in 71.52, Gary Wilkinson 249th in 72.20, Lorraine Hiles, who has been a member for several years, in her first Thirsk 10, 287th in 73.33, Andy Butcher 319th in 75.22, David Tervit 452nd in 78.53, Paul Bradford 464th in 80.24, Clare Tempest 557th in 85.15, Sarah Harrison 661st in 88.38, Rosie Gatenby 860th in 97,35 and Molly Mayes 978th in 109.04.  Very well done everyone. 

An event like this could not take place without a vast army of helpers in the background, and giving vocal support round the course. More than 100 club members were involved with this and to them also a very big thankyou.  An Indian meal was much enjoyed after the event. 

The club appreciates the support and tolerance of local people putting up with road closures etc, and to most drivers for their patience when coming across runners.

A very competitive Wheelchair Race took part before the main event, with Jade Jones-Hall in a hand bike 1st finisher in an impressive 31.50, and the accompanying cyclist marshal having all on the keep up!  Callum Hall was first finisher in a conventional chair in 38.58.  About 40, mainly juniors, enjoyed the 1.5 mile fun run, with club member, Juliet Morrice first girl finisher.

Josh Fothergill (350) at Thirsk 10

Andrea Colls (208) at Thirsk 10

Clare Tempest (984) at Thirsk 10

Error thrown

Call to undefined function split()