Marian’s Weekly Race Report: Thirsk 10 2015

It was a lovely day for the Thirsk 10 Road Race hosted by the club on Sunday, with a bumper 1059 finisher.  There was a high quality field, with international runner, Jonathan Taylor of Morpeth Harriers winning by about 3 minutes in 48.45 minutes, a fantastic time.  Justina Heslop of Elswick Harriers was 1st lady in another quality time of 58.17.  The Valley Striders team of John Hobbs, Daniel Fisher, Andy May and James Tarrran won the men’s Team Prize and New Marske runners, Kay Neesam, Kath Aspin, Melanue Carlton and Joanne Goldsmith won the Ladies’ Team prize.  Other results can be found at
There were 22 Thirsk and Sowerby runners, some of them new members, and they were nearly all pleased with their times.  Greg MacDonald was first club finisher, 20th in 58.03 with Steve Middleton 27th in 58.19,  Ken Wood 177th in 66.34,  Rob Lickley 210th in 68.08,  Graham Robinson 259th in 70.35, a massive improvemnet on his previous times, Charlotte Wilton 357th in 74.32,  Martyn Coy 419th in 76.54,  Alan Harman 487th in 79.11,  Andy Butcher 503rd in 80.01,  Helen Ashworth 546th in 81.22,  Stuart Waters 549th in 81.44,  Marc Davies 687th in 86.37,  Malcolm Aitken 797th in 90.00,  Louise Thompson 882nd in 96.07,  Sarah Jones 906th in 97.40,  Trish Radford, 914th in 98.14,  Jenny Butcher 959th in 102.41,  Michael Lowther 982nd in 107.07, given the same ime as his wife, Tracey Lowther, Hayley Holmes 1013th in 110.59,  Gary Holmes 1027 in 113.27 and David Craig 1045 in 120.31.
Well done everyone, and a big thankyou to most of the other club marshals etc who helped set it all up.
At Fountains Abbey Park Run the previous day, Walter Busuttil was first club finisher, 9th out of 186 in 19.30, his first Park Run, Laura Bosomworth 21st in 21.14,  Steven Scott 52nd in 23.34,  Nigel Morgan 109th in 28.26, Paul Adams 114th in 29.02,  Ian Codling 148th in 32.09 and Marian Codling 179th in 37.01.

Error thrown

Call to undefined function split()