Race Report 05/12/17

The annual dinner dance and presentation evening took place at the weekend when members reminded themselves of what had been achieved over the year.  Both the men’s and women’s championships were closely fought, with Stephan Tomaszewski once again coming out on top to be Men’s Champion.  Rob Burn was in 2nd place and Cameron Choules 3rd.  Nicola Booth was Women’s Champion, Christine Burn 2nd and Marian Codling in 3rd place.  The trophy for the most improved male went to Mike Lowther and Alison Butcher was the most improved lady.  The Endeavour Award went to Ian Crane.

Summerhill country park was the venue for the latest cross country fixture, where very muddy conditions made for very difficult going.  Josh Fothergill coped well, coming 4th out of 13 in the U17 Boys’ event in 16.59.  Club Captain, Olivia Mulligan came 9th out of 74 in the ladies’ race in 19.50 with Liz Stephenson 74th in 37.44.  In the men’s race, over almost twice the distance, Tom Levi was 62nd out of 154 in 40.48 and Rob Lickley 143rd in 51.47.

The weekly Park Runs had their usual following – at Fountains Abbey, 6 Harriers were among the 340 finishers, Ken Wood finishing 23rd in 20.24, Martin Cummins 113th in 25.33, Linda Bamforth 199th in 29.19, Gillian Crane, supported by husband, Ian, 224th, and both given a time of 31.09, with Jane Cummins 269th in 33.40.  Phillip Craig was at Northallerton, 50th out of 52 in 54.03.  Charlotte Wilton was 25th out of 180, and 2nd F at Albert Park in 20.52, and Hayley Tyson at Sheffield Hallam came 147th out of 438 in 24.07.  Paul Adams had a change of venue this week, at Skipton, and it was obviously to his liking as he achieved a PB time, 84th out of 109 in 30.29.  Windy Nook in the north east was Peter Richardson’s choice of venue, and he finished 120th out of 215 in 29.26.   Ian and Marian Codling had their annual trip to the Lake District for the Great Langdale 10k, on a lovely morning for running,  There was a much bigger than usual field of 608 (about double the usual recent entry) and Ian was 564th in 72.18, Marian 591st in 78.17.

Entries are now open for the popular, mainly flat, Thirsk 10 on March 18th.  Details can be found on the club website.

Award winners at the Club’s annual presentation evening
L to R – Stephan Tomaszewski, Nicola Booth, Ian Crane, Alison Butcher, Mike Lowther, Christine Burn, Rob Burn

Josh Fothergill, Liz Stephenson, Rob Lickley, Tom Levi, Olivia Mulligan, at the cross coutry event at Summerhill, Hartlepool.

Error thrown

Call to undefined function split()