Race Report 04/05/21

Event 7 of the club championship series, the virtual Gribdale Growler Fell Race took place over 4 days at the weekend, using a course along the Cleveland Way going north towards Snek Yat with fine views of Lake Gormire along much of the way, for those who had time to look!  The fastest 10 finishers over the 5.9 mile distance were men, including a guest, but ladies were in the next three places, with Trudy Morrice continuing her excellent form to finish 11th in 44.23, Gemma Tutty 12th finisher, 2nd lady in 44.30 and Sarah Yeomans 13th, and 3rd lady in 44.39.  4th lady, Kirsty Naylor, was a little slower, in 51.03 just ahead of Hilary Coventry, 5th in 51.05, the improving Sarah Harrison 6th in 52.01, Lorraine Hiles 7th in 52.02, Andrea Colls 8th in 52.11, new member, Alison Whiteley, 9th in 52.46 and Clare Tempest 10th in 53.27.
As for the men, Tom Levi, almost back to his best, was fastest in 38.12, with the consistent Paul Peacock 2nd in 38.30, Matt Jones 3rd in 39.06, Joshua Fothergill 4th in 40.56, Andrew Price 5th in 41.10, another new member, Kieran Leppard 6th in 42.25, Josh Cooper 7th in 43.19, the redoubtable Rob Burn 8th in 44.05, Walter Busittil 9th in 44.22 and Alan Simpson 10th in 44.53.  
Other members among the 85 finishers were Gary Bastow, Adam Leigh, Mike Lowther, Paul Chapman, Ken Wood, Brett Edgeworth, Andy Butcher, Duncan Fothergill, Gary Wilkinson, Marc Davies, Dave Baker, Richard Morrice, Adrian Saunders – thanks to Adrian for compiling the results – Martyn Coy, Pedro Carrasco, Andy Whiteley, Dave Wood, Geoff Bullock, Stephanie Hawkins, Will Jagger, Tracey Lowther, Sonja van der Westhuisen, Joe Joyce, David Palmer, Steve Billings, Joanne Hunt, Paul Goacher, Rob Lickley, Rhiannon Richards, Carol Morrison, Ken Evitt, James Stephenson, Alison Butcher, Faith Coy, Clare Jones, Drikus van der Westhuisen, Phillip Craig, Margaret Wikeley, Molly Kirkhope, Christine Burn, Jacob Condor, Paul Adams, Pat Kirby, Bev Davies, Kimberli Werner, Simon McKeown, Ellen Brookes, Maureen Worley, Hugh Jennyns, Richard Easby, Liz Stephenson, Alan Wikeley, Rebecca Longster, Sharon Keegan, Sarah Goacher, Kerry Morgan, Denise Gandy, Rosie Gatenby, Siobhan Woodland, Marian Codling and Angie Weatherhead.
Thankyou again to Rob Burn for sorting out the course, and to Marc Davies for photos and maps making everything very clear so no-one could go wrong.
A reminder again to get your entry in for Sessay Swift 6k on Aug 18th, 7.15 pm.  On-line entry only, and places are going fast – as will be the runners on this fast, flat course!

Leave a Reply

Error thrown

Call to undefined function split()